The Advocacy You Need In Domestic Violence Charges
The criminal defense team at Shifrin Law Group in Chicago is committed to protecting your rights. As a team dedicated to our clients’ best interests, we use our extensive criminal defense knowledge and experience to guide you to the outcome that you need to move forward with your life.
Illinois Domestic Violence Charges
Under Illinois law, domestic violence is classified as a violent criminal offense and domestic battery is defined as “physical abuse, harassment, intimidation of a dependent, interference with personal liberty or willful deprivation” of another member of the household or family. Most domestic violence charges arise out of a relationship, divorce or child custody dispute. An accuser who can establish that the other party in their family dispute has committed acts of domestic violence may gain significant advantages in divorce and child custody proceedings.
Domestic violence charges often come with serious legal and financial penalties, depending on your history. Domestic violence can either be a misdemeanor or felony offense, resulting in many years of incarceration and fines up to $25,000. Other legal penalties may include mandatory counseling, anger management classes and even custody and DCFS legal issues.
Illinois Domestic Battery Charges
Beyond formal penalties, domestic violence charges are also reflected on your record which can come with a lifetime of barriers. Having a domestic violence charge on your record can affect your ability to get a job, obtain a professional license, be admitted to college, find a place to live, immigration status, gun ownership and custody and visitation of minor children among many other things.
Domestic Battery: Under Illinois law, a person commits misdemeanor domestic battery if they cause bodily harm to any family or household member or makes physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with any family or household member. Domestic battery is generally a Class A Misdemeanor and can result in a fine of up to $2,500 and one year in jail. In Illinois, the minimum sentence for a domestic battery misdemeanor charge is a conviction, and this conviction cannot be expunged nor sealed.
A domestic battery charge, unlike other misdemeanor offenses, cannot result in court supervision. Because of the harsh penalties of a domestic battery charge, it is crucial to hire an experienced and aggressive criminal defense attorney right away if you or someone you know is currently charged with domestic battery. If you have questions about order of protection issues, visit our order of protection page.
In certain instances, domestic battery may instead be charged as a felony.
Get The Help You Need Today
If you have been charged with domestic violence or battery, call our team at 312-766-4223 to discuss your case. We carefully investigate the facts to identify inconsistencies and contradictions made by the alleged victim so that we can obtain a dismissal, acquittal or reduced charges. You can also ask a question or request a free consultation via our online contact form. Our founding attorney speaks fluent Russian, making us capable of serving you in either the English or Russian language.